Reviews

REVIEW | Slip of the Tongue by Jessica Hawkins

28230547

 

Title: Slip of the Tongue

Author: Jessica Hawkins

Format: E-book

Length: 334 Pages

Goodreads Synopsis:

Sadie Hunt isn’t perfect—but her husband is. Nathan Hunt has her coffee waiting every morning. He holds her hand until the last second. He worships the Manhattan sidewalk she walks on. Until one day, he just…stops. And Sadie finds herself in the last place she ever expected to be. Lonely in her marriage.

When rugged and sexy Finn Cohen moves into the apartment across the hall, he and Sadie share an immediate spark. Finn reveals dreams for a different life. Sadie wants to save her marriage. Their secrets should keep them apart, not ignite a blistering affair. But while Sadie’s marriage runs colder by the day, she and Finn burn hotter.

Her husband doesn’t want her anymore.
The man next door would give up everything to have her.

Slip of the Tongue is a standalone contemporary romance. The second book in the series, The First Taste, is a standalone about a different couple.

 

Untitled design (3)

“a fresh start can be as alluring as a good memory.”

What would you do if your husband just stopped being the same man you married? When he is far away and distant? When your alone most of the time? When temptation comes calling? Would you resist? or give in? What happens when you finally reach that point where you can’t take it anymore?

Jessica Hawkins’ Slip of the Tongue is an excellent story about what happens when you finally reach your limits. This is the story of a true relationship…all aspects of it, the good and the bad, love and hate and the struggle. Sadie and Nathan have the perfect marriage, they are the couple you want to be, as well as hate. That’s how it has always been, until 2 months ago when Nathan did a 180 and left Sadie in the dark. All of a sudden, Nathan became distant and cold and sometimes just plain mean. It seems as if he doesn’t want Sadie, in any way. Going from having the perfect relationship to this, Said has no idea how to handle it. When Finn, the delicious artist, moves in across the hall, he starts paying attention to Sadie, and she falls to temptation.

Now I will warn you right now, this book does handle cheating within the relationship (no I don’t really consider that a spoiler!). However, if you have a problem with that sort of subject matter please don’t read this book. 

This was the first Jessica Hawkins book I have read…and man I fell in love. I fell in love with Nathan I fell in love with Finn…in all honesty there was just love all around for this one. I loved the fact that this situation is too all but common. It is a real situation that couples find themselves in, there is alway temptation waiting at the door. You can tell me that giving into temptation is wrong, and yes, it is. But if you truly consider the place that Sadie is in, could you say for sure that you wouldn’t be tempted?

 

“If you can’t do this, I will,” he says. “I’ll make this decision for us. When you hurt tomorrow, physically or emotionally . . . when you question what we did . . . when you ache to do it again—I’ll take the blame for all of it, Sadie.”

 

Hawkins gives us a book where we route for both men. How could I not? Finn is the sexy neighbor, who is there when Sadie needs him. He has sweet words and actions to back it up. Finn truly cares and loves Sadie, he would give up EVERYTHING to make her happy. Then on the other hand there is Nathan, the perfect husband. The one who has been by Sadie’s side for years. He knows the ins and outs of what makes Sadie herself. But when he turns from her he becomes mean. Who do you route for? Both men are crafted in a  genius way to be complete opposites. One pulls at your heartstrings, while the other pulls at your mind. Now I will give it that I wasn’t necessarily a huge fan of the way Sadie’s character was written, but I think that the writing was done that way on purpose. Sadie is real, she is selfish and indecisive. Come on though, honestly, aren’t we all sometimes? I think that Hawkins did a great job at making Sadie a real person.

 

“I love you, Sadie. You’re what I want. You can close off your heart, but don’t forget—I know how to tear you open. I’ve done it before, and I’ll do it again and again until you realize I will never, ever let you abandon me. And I will never, ever abandon you.”

 

 

Now I will say…If you are married, or even in a relationship, this book will make you take a look at yourself. Being married, this make me take a long hard look at what I could do to do better in my marriage. How what I was doing was effecting my relationship. It was a wake up call, in a good way. I love books that make me step back and look at my life, or life in general. Books like this light my soul on fire. They are good for your brain and your life. The added fact that it was a STEAMY read just made it 100x better!

So to sum all of that up…read Slip of the Tongue! It was a beautiful story of love and the struggles of marriage. I will most definitely be reading more from Hawkins in the very near future!

 

“In so little time, you’ve lit up my world like the sun. And you’ve warmed me just the same.”

 

On a side note…I don’t think I have ever highlighted a story so much! My kindle definitely got a good workout. Absolutely beautiful writing!

 

Overall rating: 5/5 Stars!!

Untitled design (3)

 

Have you read Slip of the Tongue? What did you think?

 

Until next time…

 

Kaytlyn (3)

Leave a Reply

