Blog Tours · Reviews

Come Closer by Brenda Rothert | Blog Tour with Review

ComeCloser_Banner2

 

come-closer_amazon1

Come Closer by Brenda Rothert

An adult standalone, contemporary romance

PURCHASE IT NOW!

Amazon | iBooks | Kobo | B&N

ComeCloser_LiveButton2
Book Blurb:

Sometimes appearances deceive. Take me, for instance. I look like a respectable doctor with his shit together, but the rural Montana mental hospital I work at is actually a sanctuary from my demons. At just thirty-five years old, I’ve already failed on an epic scale. Treating patients at Hawthorne Hill is part of my atonement.
I’ve found peace when a new patient turns me inside out. Allison Cole is a beautiful, haunted survivor who fell into silence after witnessing a murder. But even without words, I’m drawn to her. The closer we get, the more I’m tempted to cross my professional boundaries and give in to my desire.
Soon I find myself in a desperate race to put the pieces of Allison’s silence together. Her life becomes inextricably entwined with mine as I fight to save the second chance I never thought I’d have. I’ll break whatever rules I have to in order to protect this woman who’s been to hell and back. For her, I’ll do harm.

CC_Teaser5

CC_Teaser4

Teaser 1 copy


REVIEW:

 

Come Closer is a slow burning doctor/patient romance. This is the first book I have read from Brenda Rothert, as well as the first dealing with this sort of doctor/patient relationship, and I have got to say I enjoyed it quite a bit. Cole is a doctor at the rural mental hospital, Hawthorne Hill, he believes that working here is his penance for all the mistakes he has made in is life. But Cole enjoys the hospital hidden away with the Montana wilderness all around. Allison is sent to Hawthorne Hill after a traumatic life event, however, she has locked herself away in her own head. Allison hasn’t spoken a word since the night of the trauma. Allison and Cole start to build a relationship through books, as they pass them back and forth for the other to read, and soon Cole is the only person Allison can trust when the past of that night comes back.

This was one SLOW BURNING romance, but it wasn’t just a romance, it was a suspenseful, emotional ride. Come Closer was such a unique story, not only with the forbidden aspect of the doctor/patient relationship,  but also with the storyline that takes on such a journey with Allison and Cole. I haven’t ever read a book like this, and I don’t think I ever will again. Rothert creates characters that are brilliant and so genuine. I fell in love with both Allison and Cole, and I felt connected with them on a deep level. I also think that Rothert did a great job handling mental illness in this book, it isn’t the primary player in the book but there are definitely are aspects, as Hawthorne Hill is a mental hospital, and I think that she did a great job with the characters that are dealing with these issues. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys romance or romantic suspense.

 

Overall rating: 4.5/5 stars

AUTHOR INFORMATION:

BRheadshot

Brenda Rothert is an Illinois native who was a print journalist for nine years. She made the jump from fact to fiction in 2013 and never looked back. From new adult to steamy contemporary romance, Brenda creates fresh characters in every story she tells. She’s a lover of Diet Coke, chocolate, lazy weekends and happily ever afters.

AUTHOR LINKS:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | | Wattpad | Amazon

InkSlinger Blogger Final

Leave a Reply

