Blog Tours

Review | Corrupt Me by Jillian Quinn

Hello loves! I am participating in the blog tour for Corrupt Me by Jillian Quinn. So today I will be posting my review, and then next week we will get a look at an author interview and a guest post! I am very excited to be participating in this blog tour, and a major thanks to Jillian Quinn for the opportunity!



corrupt-me-300dpi-banner

cm-synopsis-website

REVIEW

Ahh Corrupt Me! This book is going to be hard for me to review, not going to lie, so bear with me. As soon as we meet Izzie we know she has a hot temper, she is feisty and hard headed. Then opposite of Izzie we have Luca, he is a big name on campus and son to the biggest man in Philadelphia. He is smooth talking and has a giant ego. Izzie and Luca have know each other since they were young, they were each others first kiss, however their families have split ties. Grown up and attending the same college, they run into each other, each is dealing with the weight of their family name and how their lives will unfold. Izzie doesn’t want anything to do with Luca to begin with, but Luca can’t just leave her alone.

So this was one of those books that I started, and within the first couple chapters I wasn’t quite sure I could handle it, however, man was I happy I stuck with it. So I will tell you the truth, at the beginning I really just didn’t connect with either character. I felt like Izzie was a little whiny and self centered, and she really just didn’t do anything for me. Then on the other hand, Luca was kind of a dick. However, I kept reading and man am I happy I did!! As the story in Corrupt Me unfolds I grew to like the characters so much more. This is definitely one of the cases of my first impression being 100% wrong. Throughout the book Izzie starts to show that she truly is a fiercely strong and independent young woman who will stop at nothing to achieve what she wants. She moved away from being whiny into being a badass, she won’t take shit from anyone, not even Luca. Luca’s character’s evolution was done well also. Luca evolved from being one of those guys that really just gets on my nerves, into one that is working really hard to achieve the goals he has set for himself, and showing his love for Izzie that has been there since they were little. I was extremely happy with the way Quinn wrote both characters.

I enjoyed the element of this being a mafia driven romance. I think that the involvement of the families, on both sides of this relationship was great. I think that it added another layer to this story to help round it out all together. There were some aspects of mystery that kept me questioning what was going to happen next. I don’t know that I have ever read a mafia romance that I enjoyed this much. I felt like there were other plot elements that were driving this book outside of just the romance between Izzie and Luca. Sometimes it is hard to incorporate all of these elements into a story and be able to dedicate the right amount of focus to each. Quinn did a great job at giving us an extremely well done book.

Overall, I would highly recommend you check this book out. You get a lot out of this book, not only romance, but some family struggles, suspense, and action. If you are a fan of your romance with a side of adventure I think you will enjoy this book. As this is the first book in the Philly Corruption series, I will most definitely be on the lookout for the next one!

Overall rating: 4.5/5  

 

corrupt-me-teaser

Make sure to check out other stops on this tour!!

corrupt-me-blog-tour-week-2-poster

4 thoughts on “Review | Corrupt Me by Jillian Quinn

Leave a Reply

