Uncategorized

Blog Tour | Commander in Chief by Katy Evans

Commander in Chief by Katy
Evans

Series:
White House #2

Publication Date: January 5th, 2017

Genre: Contemporary Romance

 

 

Synopsis:
The sizzling second installment of the White House series,
by New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Katy Evans.
We fell in love during the campaign.
The stakes were high.
Reputations could have been ruined.
Scandal hovered over us like a cloud.
Now the man I love is the President of the United States
of America.
And its not my vote he is after.
He wants it all.
My heart. My body. My soul.
He wants me by his side.
In the White House.
Normalcy will be gone from my life, privacy forgotten.
I am only twenty three. I just wanted to play a part in
history. But it seems like history wasn’t done with me. The part where I lost
my heart to Matthew Hamilton? It was only the beginning…


 

 

REVIEW:

Commander In Chief picked up where Mr. President left off. Matthew Hamilton has won his campaign and is now the next President of the United States. Charlotte Wells is stuck trying to figure out how on earth she is going to go on with life without Matt. Matt convinces Charlotte to join him in the White House. The two of them struggle through life in the public, and all the stress the has fallen upon their shoulders. I wont go into too much as not to provide any spoilers.

Okay so if you guys follow my blog, you probably saw my glowing review of Mr. President (if not you can find it HERE), now I feel like saying that I enjoyed Mr. President is an understatement. I absolutely adored the whole story start to finish, so I was beyond excited to have the chance to review Commander in Chief. I was also excited to see where Evans was going to take my favorite characters next. So, I will start out by saying that I did quite enjoy parts of this book, however, as a whole I think this one missed the mark for me. I still enjoyed both Matt and Charlotte’s characters, I think that Evans did such a great job at introducing these characters in the first book that it was hard for me not to still be committed to them in this one.

What really got me in this book though, and why I feel like I didn’t enjoy it near as much as the first one, was the pacing. For me, this book tried to tackle too much. I feel like Evans tried to fit everything she could into this book, as not to have it run into a third. With that the pacing of the book left it hard to get the small details in there that I was craving from this book. I also didn’t particularly care for how the time jumps were done, they felt kind of choppy and out of place, and left me feeling like there were parts missing. These elements, for me really just cut my enjoyment of the story.

I really just had such high hopes for this book, and I was a little disappointed. I didn’t hate the story overall, I just didn’t love it either. This is a classic case of the sequel not living up.  If you loved the first though, I definitely still recommend finishing up with Matt and Charlotte’s story.

Overall Rating: 3/5 Stars



Add to Goodreads: http://tinyurl.com/h5r4pur
Buy Links:
Mr. President, Book 1
About the Author:
Katy Evans is a New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street
Journal bestselling author. Her debut REAL shot to the top of the bestselling
lists in 2013 and since then 9 of her titles have been New York Times
bestsellers. Her books have been translated into nearly a dozen languages
across the world.
Connect with the Author:
Email: katyevansauthor@gmail.com
Twitter @authorkatyevans
One thought on “Blog Tour | Commander in Chief by Katy Evans

Leave a Reply

