Uncategorized

2017 resolutions/goals

Well here we are it’s finally 2017, the start of the year always brings new beginnings and a time to set new goals! This last year has held quite a few struggles for me as far as blogging goes… I didn’t really stick to the resolutions I set last year. Not only that, I took about a 6 month hiatus from blogging, coming back this summer being super committed to making my blog a success.I feel like 2017 is really my year to go full throttle with my blog and be 100% committed! With that I have quite a few goals in mind for my blog this upcoming year that I very much plan on sticking to them. I have found out that planning and organization really are key to my success.

So here are some of the goals I have for 2017…



Stay organized 

This really is key! There was a point this last year where I simply thought my brain was going to explode because I had so many things going on… blog posts that I had committed to, reviews that needed written, weekly posts and so on. I will be honest with you, organization for me has always been a struggle. I don’t know why I have such a hard time sticking to a schedule, but this is my year to change that!  So I went out and I bought this really cool planner (that I am very excited about) and my goal is to make sure that I have all of my posts planned out at least 2 weeks in advanced.  So this here is my biggest goal of 2017.

Organize my Goodreads shelves 

In 2017 I would really would like to get my Goodreads shelves. I would like to add shelves such as books I have reviewed, purchased books, books I want to purchase, eARCS, and so forth. That way it is more broken down then just to-read and read. I think this will not only help keep track of my reading habits, but also help anyone who is looking at my shelves for recommendations.

Connect more with other bloggers 

One of my biggest goals this year is to connect with other bloggers. I would like to gain more friends within the blogosphere. I will make commenting on other posts and exploring new blogs a priority. I also would like to find a couple people to do buddy reads with throughout the year. So if you are interested let me know!

Read more diversely 
This one has two different goals attached for me…

1. I will be choosing to read more diversely,  whether it be in the characters or in the authors. I think this is important as a blogging world. There has been a big push to read more diversely recently and I would like to make this a priority this year.

2. The other leg of this for me is to read more diversity as far as genres go. This last year I read pretty much romance, and yes that is my favorite genre. However, I would like to expand my reading to other genres including Literary Fiction, Thriller/Suspense, Non-Fiction, Fantasy and so forth. I also may pick up a couple YA but I don’t plan on picking up too many in this genre.

Listen to more audiobooks

I have always struggled with the idea of audiobooks. I have never really been an auditory learner, which I always thought meant I wouldn’t connect with audiobooks. However, I did make it through my first audiobook this year and enjoyed it quite a lot. That being said, I would like to experience more books this way. Not to mention, I am dragging my poor husband into this as a way for us to bond. He has always been more of an audiobook listener so it gives us a way to disconnect at the end of the day with each other.

Host a weekly meme or a read-a-thon

I think this would be a great way to connect with other bloggers, but this is very much a work in progress. So this is my stretch goal for this year, as much as I love the idea I really have no idea where to start.



Obviously, there are many other goals that I will be setting for myself throughout the year, but these are some of the main ones I really hope to focus on. When 2018 rolls around I want to look back on this post and say that I achieved all of these things. And mostly I want to see that I have grown even more as a reader and with my blog as a person. I hope everyone the best of luck in this New Year, and I also want to take a moment and thank each and every one of you who has stuck this year out with me, I appreciate you more then words can tell. I am excited to see where this year takes not only me, but each and every one of you! Cheers to the New Year!!

What are your biggest goals this year? Did you succeed with your 2016 goals?

Until Next Time…

kaytlyn-1

11 thoughts on “2017 resolutions/goals

  1. My biggest goal involves not requesting too many net galley books in my attempt to read what’s on my TBR. I have an audiobook suggestion for you…have you listen to YOU by Caroline Kepnes? It’s literally the best audiobook I’ve ever listened to and I’m a regular audiobook reader. Good luck with your goals in 2017!!

    Like

  2. Great list of goals! I, too, should probably organize my GR shelves — they’re a mess right now xD I am always open to new friends via the blogosphere, so HELLO!! (: Good luck with these goals — I’ll be rooting for ya!

    -Jess @jbelkbooks

    Like

  3. One of my goals is to connect with more bloggers too! And stay organized! I would love to chat with more people, buddy-reads, work in posts with others or just talk because it can be awesome!
    Good luck with your goals!

    Like

  4. Hello there! Just found you through your goodreads friend request and your blog is so cute!! I just became a follower.

    I love your goals for the year, I also have setup some for myself like try to catch or finish the series that I’m in the middle of, but being organized would also be a good goal for myself. I think I needed like a week off from work and life in general to get my shit together ahah

    Hope you achieve all your goals and I can’t wait to read more of your posts!

    Lii @ Girl Hearts Book

    Like

    1. Lii
      Hi I’m so happy you stumbled upon me!
      I agree to needing some time off of work to get my shit together! Sometimes it is just so hard to keep on top of things. It’s a serious problem for me haha 🙂
      Thanks for the Follow I wish you good luck with this New Year and your goals as well 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

