Reviews

ARC Review: Bend by Molly McLain

 

32877341

 

Title: Bend

Author: Molly McLain

Series: Vegas Heat #1

Received: I received this book through NetGalley and the publisher for review.

Goodreads Synopsis:

The Hardass

Focused and in control at all times. Most people think I’m a prick—and I’ll be the first to admit that’s probably true. But I’d rather be a take-no-shit cop than the kind of man genetics says I should be. You break the law, you pay the price. I don’t give a damn if you’re the captain’s daughter or the Queen of friggin’ England.

The Princess

I have no patience for the cocky men my father oversees. Or maybe it’s just Sergeant Hardass who gets under my skin. Not only is he sexy as sin, he refuses to cut me a break. And now I have to work with the arrogant jerk.

I shouldn’t want him, but a secret part of me craves his unforgiving edge. He could give me everything I need, but, first, I have to break down his walls.

I have to make him bend.

 

thoughts-1

**I received this book through NetGalley in return for an honest review.**

Bend follows Kinsey, who is the Captains daughter, and Trent who is a Sergeant on the Las Vegas force. Trent is deliberately pulling Kinsey over on silly traffic violations, simply to try to piss her off. Kinsey can’t stand Trent, however she is having a problem with an employee at the lingerie store she manages, and needs help and doesn’t want to go to her dad, so she is stuck working with Trent. They both don’t want anything to do with the each other, she thinks he is a prick, and she is not his type. However,  Kinsey has a moment of weakness Trent is there to “comfort” her with exactly what she needs…a steamy hookup in a bar bathroom. But can these two overcome the hate that they have built up for each other to pursue a relationship?

So I really really wanted to like this book…But it was simply OK. I don’t feel like I connected with the characters at all. Trent’s character was alright to me, he was a egotistical alpha male with some secrets in his past, which normally is right up my alley. And don’t get me wrong he definitely had some swoon worthy scenes but I just didn’t fall in love with him like I normally do with male leads. Kinsey on the other hand really annoyed me for most of the book, she was a princess looking to rebel from her Captain father. I think that maybe had I enjoyed Kinsey’s character more I would have liked the overall book a little better, but normally whiny female leads just drive me crazy. Now don’t get me wrong there were many steamy scenes that got my blood pumping, and those were written very well…I mean come on that bar bathroom scene?!? But overall those simply just did not outweigh the negative for me. Also, can we talk about the ending? It was one of those endings that just left you going…THAT’S IT? In the end I really just think this is one of those books that I will forget over time, which is really disappointing because Bend had so much potential.  Bend for me was just a case of not living up to potential and leaving me disappointed. I don’t think I will be recommending this one anytime soon.

Overall Rating: 2.5/5 Stars

 

 

 

Have you guys read this one? Have thoughts?

Until next time…

kaytlyn-1

 

 

One thought on “ARC Review: Bend by Molly McLain

  1. That’s a shame this one didn’t work out. When I saw the cover, I was oh, hello there I think I need to read this. Lol This sounded exactly like my kind of book until I read whiny female. That’s so not my thing. I like my MCs strong so that would also bug me. Awesome, review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

