Reviews

Review | Rule Breaker

29148256

Title: Rule Breaker

Author: Kat Bastion with Stone Bastion

Published: November 7th 2016

Format: E-book

Received: From NetGalley and Publisher

Goodreads Synopsis:

Racial Tensions Flare as Hot as the Passion in RULE BREAKER,
a Modern-day Romeo and Juliet Story

Leilani Kealoha wants to be set free. Of family expectations. Of generations of prejudice.

Chafing at rules made by the proud Hawaiian men in her family, she yearns to discover herself and hungers to explore the world. Her adventuresome heart? Longs for something even greater, deeper.

The last thing she expects is an East Coast haole surfer to hold the key to everything.

Mason Price is done walking his parents’ path. Done with social acceptance—with cold politics.

On a surfing quest to reinvent himself, Mase finds an exotic beauty standing on his towel. But it’s her feisty bargaining that catches him off guard. When he challenges her with a “Truth or Shots” drinking game, she unwittingly reveals more than she’d intended about herself…and him.

The raw truth stuns him: She’s suffered like he has, is lost like he is—keeps secrets like he does.

But will young love and shared situations be enough to conquer racial and cultural divides?

Lines in the sand…were meant to be crossed.

***RULE BREAKER is a standalone, full-length new adult romance told in dual POV. Due to mature themes and adult language, this book is for those 18 and older.***

 

 

thoughts-1

** I was given this book in return for a review through NetGalley**

Rule Breaker brings the Island Girl together with the Surfer Boy. Leilani is sent out to a remote island in the hopes of gaining a sponsorship for her brother’s company. Mase, is the surfer boy who wants nothing to do with being sponsored but everything to do with the island girl. Leilani and Mase’s relationship is hindered by racial and familial tensions. But despite all of this the two of them are draw to each other and can’t see to get away.

Okay, so let me start out by saying that I did like this read. It was a quick and lighthearted. I do, however, have to say I seem to be the odd one out in the bookish community this time around, because I simply didn’t LOVE this one.

I do love the idea of this book. The beautiful island girl with her East Coast surfer taking on the racial tensions with their relationship. I felt like there was more potential within this story then played out. I LOVED Mase, he was cute and quick-witted, and completely laid back and comfortable with himself. Leilani was also written well, and I LOVED the idea that we see a romance with a main character that has a different ethnicity. Leilani was in the process of trying to find herself, and what she wanted out of life. She is unsure of herself and the decisions she makes, as I think we all are at 19. However, to me Leilani’s character seemed much older then her 19 years, and I had a hard time remembering that she was so young.

Here is where I fall out of love with this book…for me Rule Breaker was simply a little lack luster, I didn’t feel like it really shined the way I wanted it to. To me I felt like the story just didn’t develop as much as I wanted it to. I also felt like at some points it was a little repetitive. I understand that the main focus was the relationship between a native and non-native and giving us something different in the romance genre. However, I felt like other elements could have been added in to give it a little extra something.

For me this book won’t be one that I look back on and go “oh my god I remember that…let me tell you all about it” it will be one of those books that falls by the way side and when I see a picture of it or walk by it in the bookstore I will go “yeah I read that”. For me this simply didn’t live up to all of the good reviews I have been seeing in the bookshpere. For me this was simply just an OKAY read.

Overall rating: 3/5

 

What did you guys think of Rule Breaker? Leave your thoughts below!

Until next time…

kaytlyn-1

 

4 thoughts on “Review | Rule Breaker

Leave a Reply

