Uncategorized

My Break Up With YA 

Hey guys! 

I know it’s been a long time since I have posted. I suck at getting motivated, but don’t worry I’m working on it! Anyways I wanted to take a moment and touch on a subject that has been on my mind as of late… My break up with YA novels. 

Okay, now I know! Don’t get mad at me for saying this. But I just can’t do it anymore! I know that YA holds a very dear spot in quite a few of my fellow bloggers hearts, and don’t get me wrong there are quite a few YA books that I hold close to me as well. However, being a twenty-something trying to figure her life out I just feel like there is so much more out there for me to discover in literature. I no longer feel the need to be reading what everyone else is reading if I don’t find it truly intriguing. There are so many wonderful books out there to discover and love, and I can’t wait to find some truly breathtaking ones and share them with you! 

So, why you ask would I break up with a genre that drive so many readers? The answer is simple, at least for me which means yes yes I could be totally crazy! In the respect of being totally honest with you guys though, it’s just not doing it for me anymore. I haven’t felt a draw to really fall in LOVE with a YA novel since The Hunger Games and The Mara Dyer trilogy, which by the way I absolutely loved!! Anyways, I still kept trucking along reading new ones thinking okay maybe I’m just picking the wrong books. Nope none of them really kept my attention and I was in reading ruts quite frequently. I felt like I was reading the same story line and characters again and again within different worlds. There just wasn’t enough development for me in any of the YA books I’ve read as of late. And I know, you can call me crazy or tell me I am simply not reading the right books. But truly if I’ve invested time into said book and I get to the end and simply think man, this was a waste of my time, it’s not the right book for me anyways. 

That being said, I’ve just decided it’s not for me anymore. Now, if I feel a strong pull to read a book of course I’m always going to follow that. However, I will be exploring other genres mostly from now on.

What do you guys think? Am I crazy or have you had similar feelings at some point? I would love to hear your thoughts! And as always if you have any book suggestions or anything else feel free to drop them in the comments below! 

6 thoughts on “My Break Up With YA 

  1. I read lots of adult contemporary (Palahniuk, Welsh, Easton) and classics (Hugo, Austen, Bronte, Tolstoy, Dumas, Tolkien too) when I was in high school . I sent my Mum instore to buy me Fight Club when I was 15!
    Because of that I skipped YA when I was actually in that age demographic. I spent several years not reading much other an the old favourites and non-fiction/history stuff. Now, I’m almost 30 and I’ve gone back and started reading YA and I love it! Perhaps it just wasn’t good a decade – or it was when Twilight first became huge – but it didn’t interest me much at all when I was 16-25. Contemporary YA I barely touch, I just don’t get it which is probably why I read adult contemporary instead when I was a teen! Sci fi and fantasy have always been my thing mostly and there are some incredibly good YA being written in that genre and its quickly become my go-to. I have to step back and stop reading about magic and spaceships sometimes so I through in a psychopath or drug addict to balance it out.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I definitely feel ya 😕 I still read YA as my guilty pleasure reading, but now I’m spreading more towards genres I’m not as familiar with, eg classics, nonfiction, fantasy, scifi, etc. It’s hard to ‘quit’ YA when it’s so hyped on social media, though, but I’m glad you made this post! 😊 Good luck!!

    Like

  3. I am one of those people who say read what makes you happy and what you love. YA is my favorite genre and it has been for many years and have a feeling it always will be. I just find I have more fun reading YA then I do any other novels but if you don’t find joy in them don’t read them anymore. I don’t just read YA. I read a few romances,classics,and mysteries.

    Like

Leave a Reply

