Reviews · Uncategorized

Review: This Song Is (Not) For You

18626414

 

Title: This Song Is (Not) For You 

Author: Laura Nowlin

Source: NetGalley

Goodreads Synopsis:

Bandmate, best friend or boyfriend? For Ramona, one choice could mean losing them all.

Ramona and Sam are best friends. She fell for him the moment they met, but their friendship is just too important for her to mess up. Sam loves April, but he would never expect her to feel the same way–she’s too quirky and cool for someone like him. Together, they have a band, and put all of their feelings for each other into music.

Then Ramona and Sam meet Tom. He’s their band’s missing piece, and before Ramona knows it, she’s falling for him. But she hasn’t fallen out of love with Sam either.

How can she be true to her feelings without breaking up the band?

 

My Rating: 2/5 Stars

***This Review Contains Minor Spoilers***

 

Okay, so for those of you still with me… I was given a copy of this book from the publisher for and honest review. So honestly it was very hard for me to read this book. For those of you who keep up with my blog, you know I’m a suckers for a good romance story…of any kind really…however, this book just really didn’t do it for me. On the bright side it was a short read, which I think is really the only thing it has going for it. So there are these kids, Ramona and Sam, and they are in a band together and they are secretly in love with each other…okay so there is a good solid start. So Ramona and Sam meet Tom when auditioning for a music school. Ramona, who is this crazy character…she is super bossy and kinda annoying as hell, sorry no other way for me to put it, anyway she decides Tom is the missing piece of the puzzle in their band. So these three kids get together and play music, well Ramona decides that despite her feelings for Sam that she really likes Tom and they start dating…this is kinda the beginning of the end for me. Ramona in her characters is in control really of both of these guys because both of them have feelings for her, so throughout the story they just fall in line with what she wants.

 

Okay, so Ramona and Tom start dating…But Tom has no sexual feelings towards Ramona, and really is not a sexual person at all. Okay thats cool maybe this story won’t be so bad after all…NOPE. So you get these three kids whining about school and their band through most of this book, as well as the music college they all “seemingly” want to go to.

 

So where does this book get really bad? So after watching Ramona fan over Tom for most of the book Sam finally gets the nerve to tell Ramona how she feels. So now Ramona runs into the problem that Sam has professed his love, but she can’t decide what to do…so the solution? A teenaged 3-way relationship…REALLY??? Seriously??? I just can’t even…I listen to these immature characters whine the whole book about teenaged life and this is their solution?

 

So that is my main problem with this book. My other problems are that I feel no connection to these characters what so ever…There is no character growth, nothing to draw me in, nothing really at all other then them rumbling on the whole book about this or that. I also am not a big fan of the writing style this book is conceived in, it is short and choppy and I didn’t feel like this book flowed at all.

 

So there you have it, thanks for those of you still reading this for sticking with me…I personally would not recommend this book.

 

Have you read This Song Is (Not) For You? Whats your opinion? Feel free to leave me your thoughts below!

 

Kaytlyn

 

 

Leave a Reply

