Reviews

Review: The Casquette Girls

25917801

Author: Alys Arden

Source: NetGalley

Pages:565

Genre: YA, Paranormal Romance

Rating: 5/5

 

Goodreads description:

Seven girls tied by time.
Five powers that bind.
One curse to lock the horror away.
One attic to keep the monsters at bay.

After the storm of the century rips apart New Orleans, sixteen-year-old Adele Le Moyne wants nothing more than her now silent city to return to normal. But with home resembling a war zone, a parish-wide curfew, and mysterious new faces lurking in the abandoned French Quarter, normalneeds a new definition.

As the city murder rate soars, Adele finds herself tangled in a web of magic that weaves back to her own ancestors. Caught in a hurricane of myths and monsters, who can she trust when everyone has a secret and keeping them can mean life or death? Unless . . . you’re immortal.

 

Review:

Okay so I received and advance copy of this book for review, and let me tell you I was so excited! I had seen other people reading and writing reviews for this books and I thought to myself…I need to get this book, one way or another! When I received this books I just jumped straight in, honestly seeing it all over blogs and instas but not having any idea of what this book was about. This book was such a good surprise! This book transported me to New Orleans every time I sat down to read. I felt the emotions with the characters, the anger the pain the hurt, but also the happiness and the joy. This book made me want to throw things at the wall and scream at characters, but it also had characters that have made a place in my heart forever, who I cannot wait to see again.

 

So The Casquette Girls starts out with Adele Le Moyne returning home to New Orleans after “The Storm”. Her father sent her to live with her mother in Paris when evacuations happen. She comes home to a destroyed city, barley no one is back, the French Quarter is empty, her school destroyed, and her best friend still in California. Adele tries desperately to try to go back to the normal ins and outs of her life pre-storm, but the arrival of new people to town makes it difficult. As if that isn’t difficult enough for Adele to deal with, the only school in town that is open is the Sacred Hearts Academy, the ritzy private school in town.

All of this Adele can deal with in order not to have to go back to Paris to live with her mother again…until one night everything changes…

Adele stumbles upon a dead body with piercing blue eyes that will never leave her…A convent where supernatural things start to happen, and a curse unknown to Adele that she has just broken.

The rest of the book follows the un-coming of events as a result of this night. Adele befriends Desiree; granddaughter of the local Voodoo shop owner, and Isaac, a newcomer to the city who is helping to rebuild. its up to them to conspire to save the city of New Orleans from a newfound threat…Niccolo, his brother Gabe and their family of vampires.

 

*****Spoilers*****

Can we talk about the love triangle in this book please? There’s Adele, witch, Isaac, also witch, and Niccoll, vampire. Now normally I do love me a good love triangle, and normally ALWAYS I’m on side with vampires, but the way Alys Arden pulls these characters in I really found myself falling for Isaac, he is cute and sweet and always seems to be the underdog. Now don’t get me wrong I still did love Niccolo’s character and he is a close second but I’m going to have to side with Isaac…at least for now. And I was so surprised that the ending turned out in Isaac’s favor!

*****Spoilers Over*****

 

Overall Alys Arden does a phenomenal job at writing in a way that really connects you to these characters, even through this supernatural theme of the book. This is a beautiful story that will keep you up at night reading till the last page…and then that ending! You will be prepared to throw things and scream and shout! But I don’t want to spoil it so you need to go read it for yourself!! What are you still doing here? Go Now!

 

 

People who will love this: Anyone who loves magic, vampires, New Orleans, and a good love story!

 

 

 

XOXO Kaytlyn

 

 

3 thoughts on “Review: The Casquette Girls

Leave a Reply

